“Stay hungry, stay foolish.” Reflecting on the legacy of Steve Jobs


 “When I was young, there was an amazing publication called The Whole Earth Catalog, which was one of the bibles of my generation…. It was sort of like Google in paperback form, 35 years before Google came along. It was idealistic and overflowing with neat tools and great notions.”

Don’t laugh, but I wrote in my diary for the first time in years last night after my flood of emotion from the news of Steve Job’s passing yesterday.  The first thing I had to get down on paper was the overwhelming feeling of “Wow, this man defined my generation.”

I know every person in this world who has used an Apple product can relate to what I mean when I say that his vision for (fearless, practical, simple, organized, cutting-edge, intuitive, exciting) technology over the past decade has literally changed the way we think about the world.

From my first Mac laptop + free iPod package deal purchased by my parents freshman year at the University of Oregon bookstore – to my current white (world-in-my-hands) iPhone … I believe that nothing has inspired more people to be doers and dreamers nor topped the material innovation and execution of Apple, ever.

I could ramble on about how emotional I am that Steve is no longer here to blaze the trail for Apple moving forward and that his fresh ideas will no longer still be churning. Instead I will share a few of the quotes that have made me smile with pride about the visionary; the stubborn guy in the black turtle-neck and sheepish all-knowing grin that changed us in so many ways…

Quotes:

“The world has lost a visionary. And there may be no greater tribute to Steve’s success than the fact that much of the world learned of his passing on a device he invented.”

President Obama on the passing of Steve Jobs

“You have to trust in something: your gut, destiny, life, karma, whatever. This approach has never let me down, and it has made all the difference in my life.”

S.J.

“Your work is going to fill a large part of your life, and the only way to be truly satisfied is to do what you believe is great work. And the only way to do great work is to love what you do. If you haven’t found it yet, keep looking. Don’t settle.”

S.J.

“Going to bed at night saying we’ve done something wonderful… that’s what matters to me.”

S.J.

“Because those crazy enough to believe they can change the world, are usually the ones that do.”

S.J.

“There is no reason not to follow your heart. … Stay hungry. Stay foolish.”

S.J.

Steve’s commencement speech at Stanford in 2005: How to live before you die

Thank you Steve Jobs. May your legacy live on and inspire the world to live every day of their lives.


1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to ““Stay hungry, stay foolish.” Reflecting on the legacy of Steve Jobs

Leave a Reply

