Inspiring Statement by Campbell Brown

In response to the article Campbell Brown Leaving CNN Due to Poor Ratings

“Of course I pay attention to ratings,” Brown said in a statement. “And simply put, the ratings for my program are not where I would like them to be. It is largely for this reason that I am stepping down as anchor of CNN’s ‘Campbell Brown.'”

“To be clear: this is my decision, and one that I have been thinking about for some time,” she continued. “As for why, I could have said, that I am stepping down to spend more time with my children (which I truly want to do). Or that I am leaving to pursue other opportunities (which I also truly want to do). But I have never had much tolerance for others’ spin, so I can’t imagine trying to stomach my own. The simple fact is that not enough people want to watch my program, and I owe it to myself and to CNN to get out of the way so that CNN can try something else. CNN will have to figure out what that is.”

Why I love this statement:
Campbell Brown is a very poised and respected reporter from a program which I have grown to love and continue to be educated by daily. I hope to become a future public relations practitioner, and so have spent the last several years in school among many dedicated and inspiring future Journalists.

I have grown to absolutely appreciate when my peers and role models, who I look up to so much, are able to maintain a balance of respecting others and keeping utmost integrity with oneself.

I have also read and watched enough material relating to the media to be discouraged by a certain lack of transparency; that which we are taught to uphold so strongly in school.

Many times I’ve been let down by the reactions and responses of figures in the media, journalists more than not – because during the moment of truth, transparency seems to jump out the window.

This statement by Campbell Brown refreshed me. I found it very comforting to see how honest she could be in a fishbowl moment, with so much personal frustration surrounding her. I think future journalists can really relate to where she’s coming from and be inspired to maintain clarity even when we think it doesn’t matter anymore.

Leave a comment

Filed under Public Relations

Leave a Reply

