Overcoming Nerves & Procrastination

This week has been a challenge for me. I was not allowed to be lazy this week. Really really really not allowed. Who cares if it’s week eight of my senior year of college? Work is to be done!

Luckily I have this little thing called a laptop that let’s me do everything I need to do curled up in my cushy green bed. I have my lap desk, my yellow legal pad, my blackberry, my noise canceling headphones and my motivation. In my world, I am set.

Here is my challenging To Do list for the week:

– Make dozens of cold calls

– Get quotes for press release

– Write press release

– Create keynote presentation

– Update PR plan

– Upload videos for client’s FBook website

– Continue my search for the elusive job

Here’s my problem:

– I have a serious fear of making cold calls

– I have a fear of public speaking…I’m getting over it slowly

– I am absolute beginner on iMovie

– I’m not sure what kind of job I want, thus making my job searching hugely frustrating

This is how I’ve managed to ease nerves and get my work done, enjoyably if I dare say:

1. Always jot down notes before speaking on the phone.  Fewer words is better. (I prefer yellow legal pads because they stimulate my senses).

2. Making Keynote presentations is currently my biggest thrill in life. If there is anything that will single handedly help me get over my public speaking fears it will be Keynote. Because I enjoy creating the slide shows so much I am excited to present (Flickr images + Transitions = Bliss).  My nerves are washed away by my little project accomplishment. Therefore, I’m working hard to get excited about everything from here on out. I think it’s really possible. Even if it’s corporate responsibility we’re talking about.  If you don’t have Keynote you can give it a free 30 day trial here.

3. Take music breaks. Sitting down with my big Bose headphones to an uplifting, soothing song makes all the difference in the world to me.

4. Drink liquid. I prefer water. Sometimes I prefer my honey tea. Sometimes I prefer Gatorade, maybe apple juice. Regardless of the beverage, our minds work so much clearer when we are hydrated.

6. Find inspiration! My roomate loves to visit Stumbleupon.com and search under “writing” whenever she gets writer’s block.  I like to hit up my blogroll and browse through every single blog if I get the chance.

5. Get comfortable asking bosses or peers questions. I’m learning to take advantage of the art of a quick email, direct tweet, Facebook chat message, or text. People appreciate being appreciated and I always feel better when my jumbled thoughts are straightened out. It’s never good to dwell in your discomfort. Ask those questions!

5 Comments

Filed under Public Relations

5 responses to “Overcoming Nerves & Procrastination

  1. Atta girl, I’m so proud of you and all the hard work you’re doing! Keep it up, and keep posting – your blog keeps me focused on my own goals.

  2. Great post! I think we can all relate to a challenging to-do list and you’ve listed some good ideas for overcoming your fears. I used to be afraid of cold calls until I worked at an event-planning job that required me to make about 50 per day. I quickly realized that people have no idea you’re nervous, and as long as you don’t annoy them, everything will go smoothly. In fact, the more comfortable you get, the more likely you are to have very successful — even enjoyable — conversations.

    Good luck with your job hunt!

  3. Pingback: Celebrating Success: The Best Student Posts This Term | PRos in Training

  4. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so much about this, such as you
    wrote the e book in it or something. I feel that you can do with a few % to power the message home a bit, but instead of that, this is great blog. A great read. I will certainly be back.

  5. Heya i’m for the first time here. I found this board and I in finding It really useful & it helped me out much. I hope to give something again and aid others like you helped me.

Leave a Reply

