Man I’ll miss this.

I absolutely couldn’t resist writing a blog post about how much I’ll miss college when something like a drunk guy yells “THIS. IS. SPARTAAAAA!” at the top of his lungs outside my bedroom window at 12:56 am on a Wednesday night.

I live in a apartment complex on the corner of 14th & Hilyard. I call it the epicenter of life off campus. My apartment is not only two blocks from campus, it’s also no more than three blocks from Max’s, Taylor’s, and Renee’s, (and Fathom’s if we feel like counting it) – a.k.a “the campus bars.”

Suffice to say, I hear A TON of rowdy, often day-making hilarious, college kids. I moved into this apartment complex when it was first being built. It was around the time that Eugene started getting its major face-lift for the Olympic Trials in 2008.

I’ve seen nine roomates (not counting boyfriends) move in, study-abroad, transfer, graduate and move back in over the course of three years. I call my home, “life on the corner,” apartment number five. And I picked my bedroom based on its vibe and morning sun accessibility, all when it was just a wooden frame.

As much as I enjoy living here, I still envy the quaint Eugene houses further away from my bubble. It takes me five minutes ’till I shrug the jealousy off and smile because I have a beautiful park, washer, dryer, heat and my own bathroom.  Of course, I also love when people jolt me out of bed by shouting lines from Braveheart outside my window….Provides me a pitter-patter of lovestruck college joy I just can’t deny.

In further news, I’ll be graduating in three weeks. Interestingly enough my Facebook status today says “Graduation Anxiety.”  I cried myself to sleep last night for reasons I still can’t piece together. I’m confused, and sad, terrified and really just so overwhelmed with excitement about the future of my life and my childhood expectations becoming realized.

College was the coolest experience. I was planted, and then I grew, and then I blossomed – and now here I am at the end soaking the rest of it in after four amazing years.

But what I’m really thinking now is what’s next? Where will we all end up?

I am confident and prepared, and convinced we’ll all be just fine if we remember that we are able to feel those two things from here on out.

To the class of 2010 at the University of Oregon: May you never forget college friends, rowdy neighbors, rain soaked socks, singing Sweet Caroline at closing time, and the fact that you are now truly prepared for the real world.  Good luck, Go Ducks, and I love you all.

3 Comments

Filed under Life

3 responses to “Man I’ll miss this.

  1. Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

  2. Karly

    Oh Jenna. You are awesome.

  3. Awww this got me all misty-eyed. Love youuuu.

Leave a Reply

